What the hell is Yoga?

Yoga has eight stages, or limbs, and the tree pose (Vrksasana) is a good way of describing them.

Yama – The root of the tree

It’s principles are: non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, self-restraint, and not hoarding beyond ones needs.
Yama disciplines organs of action- arms, legs, mouth, organs of generation and excretion.

Niyama – The trunk of the tree

It’s principles are: cleanliness, contentment, burning desire or effort, self study, and self-surrender.
Niyama controls organs of perception- eyes, ears, the nose, the tongue, and the skin.

Asana (Poses) – The branches of the tree

These branches are the various postures which bring the physical and physiological functions of the body into harmony- with physiological yogic discipline ie. mind and body unite.

Pranayama (Science of the Breath) – The leaves

The breath connects the macrocosm with microcosm and visa versa.
Through Pranayama, the respiratory and circulatory systems are brought into harmony.

Pratyahara (Withdrawing of the Sense) – The Bark

The bark protects the energy flowing inside the tree between leaves and the root. The bark corresponds to Pratyahara the inward journey of senses from skin toward core of being.

Dharana (Concentration) – The sap of the tree

The juice which carries the energy on it’s inward journey, concentrating on the core of the being.

Dhyana (Meditation) – The Flower

When the sap links the tip of the root with the tip of the leaf. When the tree is healthy and energy is wonderful, then the flowers blossom out of it. This is meditation.

Samadi (Merge individual soul with universal spirit) – The fruit of the tree

The flower turns into fruit. The essence of the tree is in the fruit.
So, Samadi is where body mind and soul are united with universal spirit.


For more information contact Sandy at The Yoga Mat

  • sandy@theyogamat.co.za
  • Facebook
  • 083 303 1637